Ghulam Nabi Malik, first Pakistani Principal Mayo School of Arts (now NCA) Lahore

by

http://kutubshaikh-art.com/Thoughts.aspx

i am proud of the fact that the first Pakistani Principal of the Mayo School of Arts – now NCA Lahore – Ghulam Nabi Malik (1947 to 1954) was my grandfather.

“Before I took up work there, there had been no co-education at the institute. There were a few female students in my classes, but they were relegated to the basement of the National College of Arts. One day, I went to Mr. Ghulam Nabi, the Principal of the Mayo School of Arts and said:“Sir, I would like to mix these classes. The girls come here to learn art and we cannot provide an extra model because of lack of funds. If you will allow me, this will be done. “Mr. Ghulam Nabi gave me a free hand: “Kutub, if you think you can succeed, go ahead.”

7 Responses to “Ghulam Nabi Malik, first Pakistani Principal Mayo School of Arts (now NCA) Lahore”

  1. Maryam Says:

    He is my great grandfather. I was just surfing the net with mom and we found her grandfather on your blog.

  2. maryam jibran Says:

    He is my great grandfather. I was just surfing the net with mom and we found her grandfather on your blog.

  3. maryam jibran Says:

    He was my great grandfather. I was just surfing the net with mom and we found her grandfather’s name on this blog.

    • tahir wadood malik Says:

      assalam o alaikum maryam jibran
      app kis ki beti ho?
      i do not recall any niece with this name
      please don’t mind my ignorance, or late reply as i logged in after a long time due to family issues

  4. Mian Zahur Says:

    Mr Tahir Wadood, how are you related to Mr Ghulam Nabi Malik.i am very curious..
    thanks Mian zahur

Leave a Reply

